The Dominican Republic:

The Dominican Republic is a nation on the island of  Hispaniola, part of the Greater Antilles archipelago in the Caribbean region. The western part of the island is occupied by the nation of Haiti, making Hispaniola one of two Caribbean islands that are shared by two countries. Both by area and population, The Dominican Republic is the second largest Caribbean nation (after Cuba), with an area of 48,442 square kilometers.

Has an estimated population of nearly 10 millions people, one million of which live in the capital of Santo Domingo.


The Dominican Republic is the largest economy in Central America and the Caribbean region.  One of the highest incomes in developing countries with a GDP per capita of $ 12,803, in ppp terms.

The Dominican Republic's economy depends mainly on natural resources and government services. Although the service sector has recently overtaken agriculture as the main employer (mainly due to growth in tourism and Free Trade Zones), agriculture remains the largest sector in terms of domestic consumption and is in second place behind mining, in terms of export earnings. The service sector in general has grown in recent years, as has construction.


The national currency of the Dominican Republic is the Dominican peso gold or weight. Its symbol is RD $. The Central Bank of the Dominican Republic according to the Dominican Constitution controls the currency and everything related to it, and sets the rate of convertibility of the Dominican peso with respect to foreign currencies.

National holidays:


Name Castilian

Local Name


1 de enero

New Year

New Year

No working.

6 de enero


Día de Reyes


21 de enero

Nuestra Señora de la Altagracia

Virgen de la Altagracia

No laborable. Santo patrón católico.

26 de enero

Natalicio de Juan Pablo Duarte

Día de Juan Pablo Duarte


27 de febrero

Independencia Nacional de la República Dominicana

Independencia Nacional

No laborable. Día nacional

Fecha variable

Semana Santa

Semana Santa

No Laborable en sector de Educación y en otros sectores es Laborable, excepto el Viernes Santo. Fiesta católica.

1 de mayo

Día Internacional del Trabajo

Día del Trabajo


Fecha variable

Corpus Christi

Jueves de Corpus

No laborable. Fiesta católica. Un jueves en el mes de mayo o junio (60 días después del Domingo de Pascua).

16 de agosto


Día de la Restauración

No laborable.

24 de septiembre

Virgen de las Mercedes

Virgen de las Mercedes

No laborable. Fiesta católica.

6 de noviembre

Primera Constitución Dominicana

Día de la Constitución


24 de diciembre



Laborable hasta el mediodía.

25 de diciembre


Día de Navidad

No laborable. Nacimiento de Jesucristo.

31 de diciembre


Fin de año

Laborable hasta el mediodía.


Authorized Economic Operator
Caribetrans, S.A.S. is pleased to share the news that we have been certified as an Authorize...
More news
Inicio  |   La Compañia  |   Servicios  |   Proyectos Especiales  |   Noticias  |   Contactos
Developed by Merit Designs